The first Cooperative named “The Aizawl Trading Cooperative Society Ltd.” was registered in 1949 and the first Cooperative Sub-Divisional Office was established in 1951 at Aijal which was upgraded as a District Office on 3.1.2956.

After attaining the status of Union Territory in 1972 and consequently, full pledged statehood in 1986, more new Civil Administrative Districts have also been commissioned so that developmental works can be done more effectively. With these new Administrative District comes, the Department of Cooperation also opened one new District Offices at Serchhip in addition to Aizawl East, Aizawl West, Lunglei, Saiha, Champhai and Kolasib District Office.

After 52 years of Cooperative Movement in the State, there are at present 1369 functioning Cooperative Societies including 11 (eleven) State Level Cooperative Societies in various categories. Various types of Primary Cooperative and State Level Cooperative Societies and their progress and activities have been shown in the statement of the booklet.

In order to make the Cooperative Movement in Mizoram more effective, the Mizoram Cooperative Societies Act, 2006 was prepared in line with the then Mizoram Cooperative Societies Rules 1996 was also prepared under the framework of the recently legislated Act, 1991 and came into force w.e.f. the 12th November, 1996.

With the adoption of Cooperation as an instruments of economic planning and as the cooperative activities has been emerging in the mind of rural and urban poor in the changed scenario of National Policy and with the economic liberalization of Trades and Industries with fiscal reforms and infusions of new technology, processing industries and allied activities, the Cooperative Movement in Mizoram has been trying its level best to make much headways and to bring Socio-Economic process and activities under the fold of Cooperative Movement with a view to save Weaker Sections. The Mizoram Cooperative Societies Act, 2012 was made and came into force w.e.f. 9.16.2013.

In order to provide legal protection to the common interest of Cooperative members and functioning Cooperative Institutions under the Mizoram Cooperative Societies Act, 2006, the Registrar of Cooperative Societies of Mizoram has been assigned a vital role of supervision of the working of all the registered Cooperative Societies in the whole State of Mizoram.